How Do I say Thank You?

Today was my final day at Ghost Ranch.  It was filled with a trip to watch the magnificent dancers of San Ildefonso Pueblo perform for their annual Feast Day.  Although it was cold and windy, the sun was shining and it was a brilliant day to watch this powerful tradition.

At one point, there were two large groups performing different dances in the plaza at the same time. Just for a moment, I was uncertain what I should do. How could I choose which dance to watch? As I stood there quietly the answer came to me……. stand between them, close my eyes and just listen.  As I did so, I began to absorb the power of the drums and the voices of the warriors as each dance progressed; each one feeding on the beauty of the other.  Every dancer and drummer mingling with the wind and sun, raising the vibration from the earth to the sky.  I could visualize the drums as the heartbeat of the land and the voices of the warriors as prayers to the heavens in gratitude for the abundance of the tribe.  The sounds reverberated throughout my entire being and I felt myself lift with the power of the moment.  I knew then, exactly the reason for my trip. To give Thanks.  

To give thanks to the people that I love and love me in return, to the clay that I cherish and for the lessons I have learned.  All of this has made me who I am in this very moment.  

Whenever I am feeling drained or powerless, whenever I am uncertain of the road ahead, I will remember this moment in my life.  I will call upon the power of gratitude and thankfulness of my time spent in this wonderful place and know that all is well.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you❤

4 comments on “How Do I say Thank You?

  1. Are you sure you are a potter? I think you are secretly a writer! I have so enjoyed being on this journey with you through your words. Felt like I was right there. I hope you save this “diary” in a special place so you can read it again and again and share it with those you love. Have a safe trip home. 👏🏻😊

    • lucyac says:

      Ha! I come from a family of “wordsmiths”. I have really enjoyed writing this blog and hope to post more frequently in the future. I have also been thinking about making a small book out of my adventure along with photos of my pottery.

  2. Carol says:

    And THANK YOU, Lucy, for sharing your journey with me. Every morning I look forward to your words of inspiration; I feel blessed by your words. Thank you

Leave a Reply

