The Gift of Permission

As I was wondering, just ever so slightly lost on a hike today, I realized that I hold off my joy. I make a huge  “to do” list that just has to be accomplished before I get to start playing in the mud. My internal dialogue goes something like this…….Just as as soon as I clean the house, wash the dog, pay the bills, do the laundry, organize my desk, clean out my car, exercise, stretch, eat……….I can give myself permission to spend time in my studio working.  Sound familiar?  Just a tiny bit?

We took a field trip today to Abiquiu Pueblo. We listened to a gentleman who is the caretaker of at least 150 years of oral history of his people.  As a child he would sit and listen to his father, uncles and grandfather tell stories of the past.  Some tragic, some intense, some incredibly funny.  Listening to this man today, I am sure he never thought about giving himself permission to take the time out of his daily chores to do this.  He found great value in listening to his elders, asking questions about their heritage and honoring the past. He is now conveying these stories to his offspring and to those that visit his Pueblo.  He has incredible passion for what he does and it shows by the light in his eyes and the excitement in his voice.

All of us have a song of our soul that needs to be sung.  For me, it is clay; for others it may be painting, writing or woodworking.  Whatever it is, if you find that you are a better person for doing it – that your heart starts humming just at the thought of it – than by all means possible, make time to do it.  It doesn’t matter if you sell your work, give it away or put your words in a drawer.  What truly matters is that in the act of creating, joy is unleashed.  

4 comments on “The Gift of Permission

  1. You nailed it!! Creatives need to make/take time to pursue their passions. I find myself falling into the black hole of “tasks to complete before”… and sometimes the creating takes a back seat. Need to work on that! Your adventure gets better every day. LOts of self discovery going on! πŸ‘πŸ»

  2. Amy says:

    Thank you for sharing your experiences with us Lucy. Such relevant reminders to read and I truly appreciate them!

Leave a Reply

