The Desire to “Get There”

Yesterday was filled with fulfilling a wish that I have had since I was a girl.  At 10:15 a.m., I walked into The Georgia O’Keefe Museum in downtown Santa Fe.  I wondered around for over an hour, peering into her original pastels, paintings, drawings and looking at the woman in photographs.  Images of her work lose something in the translation.  The fluidity of her brush strokes, the clarity in her eyes……….filled me with incredible longing and the desire to get my hands into the earth and work at shaping my own work with as much movement and form in clay.  

I was shuttled to the ranch last night in darkness, unable to see the incredible vistas that await.  I can assure you, I will be posting many photos of the landscape.  As I write this, the sun is just starting to come over the mountains – I feel like a kid waiting for Santa to arrive!!!

As I was settling into my shared cottage last night, I was told that Georgia actually stayed in this actual space when she came to visit.  This has already been an amazing and heart fulfilling adventure.  I can’t wait to see what the day brings 🙂

4 comments on “The Desire to “Get There”

  1. Sharon L Middleton says:

    Enjoy your stay, Lucy!!! What a fabulous opportunity. Isn’t the museum wonderful.

  2. Bonnie K says:

    Have an incredible time with the newness of each day and what it will unfold as you learn new ways. May you feel the presence of all that you call forward in this journey of discovery and creation

Leave a Reply

