A Day to Remember

One of my first artist crushes, Georgia O’Keefe, has never failed to inspire me.  When I’m blocked or low, all I have to do is look through images of her work, getting lost in the pattern and color, and I am made whole again.  

I came across a workshop which is being held on her ranch – a place where she lived and was inspired by the landscape for decades.  Somehow, I knew I had to go. I lost sleep over it, going back and forth about how we were going to pay for it.  I beat myself up internally, questioning myself over whether leaving my home, my husband and my three fur babies for three weeks wasn’t incredibly selfish.  My husband, always my most ardent supporter, didn’t hesitate for a second.  When I asked his opinion, he simply said, “You should do that.”  Score a big ol’ brownie point for that man!

I decided to see if the way would open up for me.  I went ahead and registered for the class – mostly as a leap of faith.  I said “Here I am, this is what I want for my Life, now help me achieve it.”  Well, I won’t make this long winded.  I received at grant from the Regional Arts Grant Program in my region of North Carolina.  One of the Directors, Patty Smyers, from the Arts Council of Henderson County, through no knowledge of my own, handed my portfolio over to The Community Foundation of Henderson County.  They, after much deliberation, presented me with The Betty Taylor Award, which is for emerging artists who are furthering their education.  The proceeds of both of these awards, pays for my trip as well as a portion of a pit fire kiln that I want to build.

Fast forward to today………I am in Santa Fe, having arrived a few hours ago.  Tomorrow, I will be headed to the ranch for three weeks to immerse myself in all things Pueblo pottery.  From digging our own clay and preparing it, to hand building, yucca brush work, burnishing and firing.  It’s a three week wonderland for this girl and a true gift.  I plan on squeezing every last drop of goodness from this experience – as well as a few green chile enchiladas 🙂 I am excited to see where this takes me.  I hope you will follow me on this journey – this truly is a gift – and I want to share with those of you who have followed me tirelessly, supporting me with your kind words and actions.  My ardent desire, is to create something new, listen quietly to what it wants and do the clay “proud”.

8 comments on “A Day to Remember

  1. Sandi Li says:

    Lucy, my heart goes with you. I will find joy in your journey. Watching your spirit flow in to the clay makes me feel close when I touch the beautiful pieces I own. Keep doing what you do. It uplifts us all. It is more self-less than selfish. This workshop is work…it’s your life’s work. That you find it enjoyable is a bonus but does not make it selfish. You will miss your mountains and your hubby and your fur-babies and the comforts of familiarity but in exchange you will grow. Nothing selfish about that. Love you so, my dear friend.

    • lucyac says:

      Thank you, Sandi. I’m so thankful to be able to do this. You are such a wonderfully, supportive friend. It feels very strange to be “untethered” but I know this is what I am supposed to be doing. Love you for all that you are ❤❤❤❤❤

  2. Amy says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing more, Lucy!

  3. lucyac says:

    Thanks, Amy! I hope to post frequently during my stay

  4. Miiram Hughes says:

    Lucy, I am beyond excited and thrilled for you. In addition to being an amazing potter, you are a diligent craftsperson, a good business person and a delight to know and be around. I look forward to following you on this journey. Create happily!

  5. Kathleen Bittner says:

    I think you are natural for Santa Fe. The first time I saw your work in Disney it reminded me of the Pueblo pottery. Your lovely pottery sits in my living room right next to my pieces from Santa Fe. If I could attach a photo to this message I would. May you be thoroughly blessed and inspired!

Leave a Reply

