The Lessons of Moving……Part 1

I haven’t written for quite awhile.  Honestly, I wasn’t sure I had anything of value to say. Since moving to the mountains I have learned a lot about myself……….some of it has been good, some extremely unsettling but all of it is a continuing uncovering of who I am.  Below is a list in no particular order.

1.  I didn’t realize just how burned out that I had become.  When one is in a race, the best that can be expected is to run as fast as you can, for as long as you can, hoping that the finish line will reveal itself.  Solid logic…….if your really running a race.  Otherwise, a recipe for adrenal fatigue, depression and emotional collapse.  Ok, so that’s a little dramatic but you get my point.  My life had become moving from one job, one event, one obligation to another.  The fun and freedom had left my space and an over zealous sense of duty flooded it.  I took things that I loved and made them into chores.  And guess what?  It sucked.

2.  I left behind a full practice of clients that trusted and counted on me with the thinking that people would automatically do the same where I was moving to.  Looking back on this, I am astounded by my naivety.  How could I think that a practice that I had lovingly nourished and built for 23 years was just going to appear where I was going.  No one knew me, trusted me or believed in me.  I had to come face to face with my ego and tell it to take a hike.  I was at a new beginning not a continuation and if I was going to succeed I needed to reach out and show people that I could be trusted.

3.  I miss my people.  I miss that my people knew me……really, really knew me, and loved me for it.  What this has made me realize is that it’s wise to treasure your community for the beauty that it brings to your life and to never be afraid to reach out.

4. Admitting my vulnerability can be terrifying and liberating.  I recently reached out to my community when I was ready to jump off of a 2′ ledge……….I was scared to admit my need for comfort and yet, when I did, the response was more than I could have ever imagined.  Words of love, encouragement, strength and courage came my way and I was humbled.  I said a heart felt Thank you to each one of them and realized that no matter where I am, my people will always be with me.

5. If I sit in stillness and trust the flow, life has a way of working out.  That does not mean to just float along like a leaf in the wind.  For me, it’s been a balance of working, striving, reaching……….and then letting go.

Moral of the story: Love your people, commit to your life and be kind. 

  

10 comments on “The Lessons of Moving……Part 1

  1. Nat says:

    I love this post so much as I can relate. I have been trying to relight my pilot light for a few months. Your work is beautiful and I love your blog.

    • lucyac says:

      I know we are both on a parallel journey starting new lives in new places. Thank you for letting me know that this resonated with you. I have asked my Muse to stay with me and be patient❤️❤️❤️

  2. Sandi says:

    Valuable lessons. Love to you from one of your People.

  3. Linda Hunter says:

    Lucy, Jerry and I can relate. We moved here in 2012. I was excited but scared. How would we make friends now that we were working from home? Would people like our jewelry? You know that we think your work is amazing and we are pleased that we met you. Sending good thoughts your way.

    • lucyac says:

      Thank you Linda! I am so happy to be here – sometimes it’s just a little scary. I feel the same way about the two of you and your work! BTW – the new applications are finished for #7. I would be happy to email you one if you like 🙂

  4. christina sterling says:

    Sending love from one of your peeps!

  5. Bonnie K says:

    Lucy, as always your willingness to expose your rawness and vulnerability is truly refreshing and comforting all at the same time. Thank you my friend for sharing yourself with all of us. Love you

Leave a Reply

