Wish You Were Here

It has been a little less than 90 days since my husband and I, along with our 3 dogs and 3 large UHaul’s worth of stuff landed in the mountains of North Carolina. I return to Florida once a month for four days to maintain a long standing massage practice and am asked by almost everyone if I love my new home. Well…….here are the answers I have come up with so far…….
1. Beginnings are full of magic, hope and lots of heavy lifting. How did I ever think that we didn’t have too much stuff??? The velocity of wanting something to work helps for it to work – it just takes more time than I idealized.
2. Endings are painful, emotional, cleansing, cathartic and involve more heavy lifting. Damn! Some of the people I thought would be with me forever have just upped and disappeared……..some I never thought would give me a second thought have been the support I didn’t even know I needed. And the stuff………cleaning out is a beautiful thing but requires fortitude and lots of upper body strength 🙂
3. The mountains are my muse and I am their bitch. No two ways about it – they are in my DNA and they own my heart. I, in turn, work diligently to honor them in my life and in my art.
4. I miss my tribe, my community and my girlfriends. Sometimes, there is no substitute for spending a few hours with a girlfriend that just “gets you”. They don’t need to fix you just the way you don’t need to be fixed. To hear the words, “me, too!!”, is so damn comforting that it makes me want to cry tears of joy knowing that I am connected with another person.
5. I’m a whole lotta of me for new people in my life to take in. A girlfriend called me “formidable” yesterday. I finally understand that it’s not for me to decided whether I am too much or too little………I just “am”.
6. I am stronger than I thought. Putting one foot in front of the other can be an incredible challenge at times but moving through is the best way I know how to get to the other side and find progress and peace for my soul.
7. I am more vulnerable than I thought. Ohhhhhh, this is a tough one for me – Ms. Strong Enough. I am fragile and prone to self doubt and ridicule. It’s nice to know that there are people out there who inspire me to be gentle with myself.
The discovery that in all the change I have encountered the past few months – what matters most, to me, are the treasures of friendship. I bow In gratitude to you, my friends who make up my heart.

2015/01/img_0321.png

2 comments on “Wish You Were Here

  1. Terri Moore says:

    ❤️

Leave a Reply

