Letting Go…….

IMG_2875There is something that I just recently realized about myself and I have to say, I’m a little embarrassed.  If you have known me for any length of time, you already know that I LOVE to touch clay.  Actually, if you have only known me for about 5 minutes, you would clearly get it.  For the past 5 years, since I was first introduced to hand building, I have been obsessed with the process and eventually I became hyper vigilant about getting my work out into the world for others to see.  To see another person connect with my work is a sacred event in my world.

Having said that, I have held something back……..something that has created an obstacle to my own prosperity.  Sometimes, well most of the time, I fall in love with my work – usually the newest piece is the object of my affection.  This is not to say, that I, above anyone else’s eyes, see every flaw in my work.  I sometimes over analyze the mistakes in my work, picking at them like a scab until I create a wound that takes too long to heal.  However, what I have uncovered is the fact that I attach myself to my work too much.  With all the love, thought, care and attention I give to each piece, I have forgotten the process of letting go.  I now realize that if I want to share my work with others, I must first learn how to let go of it so that each piece has a chance to find it’s new home.  My fear, of course, is that with each piece that moves on, I have a little less creativity to share.  Well here’s the kicker……..just the opposite is true!! With the release of each creation, I am able to “declutter” my physical, emotional and spiritual space which in turns gives me more space to create.

Just as we all need to declutter our home to create more opportunity and growth so it is with our art.  I’m letting go……..one piece at a time.

Leave a Reply

