How Strength can be My greatest weakness

If you know me for any length of time, you will quickly realize that I am a strong person.  I have taken pride in the fact that I keep my body strong, my will in place and my ability to care for myself at the top of my priority list.  I care enough about others to avoid being a burden to them due to my lack of being present in my own life.  Someone once told me that I can’t “will” everything into existence.  My response to them was, “Why not?”

But here’s the deal…………sometimes “being” strong is a way to avoid vulnerability which in turns keeps us from intimacy.  If everyone around me believes that I am strong enough, that I can handle everything that Life, God or the Cosmos throws at me, then I have done a wonderful job of avoiding being vulnerable.  As i have gotten wiser, I have realized that I don’t have to lay my soul and vulnerabilities out for everyone to trample on, I just need a few people in my life that I can trust with those precious commodities.  For me to believe that I can be there for others, and not allow others to be there for me – well that just creates an imbalance in the soul universe.  The people I have in my life are of my own choosing.  It is my responsibility to choose well.  As a wise woman recently said to me, The Universe has got your back.  Trust in it.

That is true strength.Mermaids Diving

One comment on “How Strength can be My greatest weakness

  1. Terri Moore says:

    Well said Lucy! I can totally relate.

Leave a Reply

