My Love Affair with Clay

Although I have only recently begun creating ceramic art in the past 4 years, I have long since had a love affair with clay.  I remember as a youngin’ living in the mountains of West Virginia, sitting by the creek, scooping up mounds of mud in my pie pan and shaping it high until it fell back to the earth.  What a luscious feeling it was; the grit, the consistency, the earthiness of it all.

Even now, every time I open up a new bag of clay, I stick my head way inside and breathe deeply the smell of it……and realize that what I am smelling is not just the dirt and earth but the possibilities of what it will become.

All of us have an opportunity, every day, to move into our next greater self.  We have the endless ability to create something new and beautiful to share with the world.  The longer I am in this body, the more I realize that the power to radiate life has been within me all along.  Through all of my trials, struggles and challenges, the constant thread was me.  I get to choose every day how I see my world and the world around me.

Just as it is with clay, it is in the world.  To let go of control enough to allow life to happen and still be present to the possibilities. The choices we all have to create a life we dream of, a life we, as our higher selves deserve to step into. That’s a life well lived.Image

Leave a Reply

