The “Do” Factor

Anyone who has known me for any length of time will attest to the fact that I’m a “doer”.  I fill my life with all of the things, people and work (for the most part) that bring a smile to my face.  I move through my day and never quite realize or acknowledge my accomplishments.  I am am more of a “what’s next” kind of gal.

This morning, as I was finding present time from the dreamland of the night before, I had the thought that I had a lot to “do” today.  The list immediately began; walk the dogs, go to yoga, drop off an order of my pendants to a retailer, perform 6 massages and say a final goodbye to one of my favorite people who is moving cross country.  It was then that with the prospect of all of that, I felt a heaviness in my chest.  It seemed like too big of a mountain to climb – and that was just the time from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. The rest of the night would be devoted to my art which always seems to come last – when there isn’t much of me left.

As I was wondering around the moroseness of it all, I realized that it wasn’t my list that brought a heaviness, it was my frame of reference.  What if I simply woke up and instead of listing all of the “do’s” of the day, I said “I have a lot to BE today”?  Instantly upon having the thought, I felt lighter.  Like the day held the promise of adventure and excitement.  To get the opportunity to “BE” a dog lover, an artist, a massage therapist, a friend – well that is the richness of life that “doing” can completely miss.  To simply do and not BE present to the grace of life is a life unloved.

Finding sanctuary with one’s self and thoughts is a lifelong endeavor – a kindness given to oneself that can be expressed through our relationships, our art and our life.  Image

Leave a Reply

