Balance and Flow

There have been times in my life that I was absolutely sure that I needed, damn well deserved, balance in my life.  I focused on attaining it everyday.  I willed myself to have time for all of my duties and obligations, my wants and desires, and all of the other things that I was just sure that made up the ever illusive quality of balance.  Guess what?  Not only did I fail miserably at achieving it, I also added on the caveat of reprimanding myself for not being strong enough, smart enough or evolved enough to make it happen.  This cycle started as a struggle and turned into lose-lose on all sides. Before I knew what was happening, I had found myself with a first class ticket to Crazy town!

Today, while taking a yoga class from my masterful instructor, Mary Lyn, a light bulb went on in my head between Crow Pose and Leap Frog.  It’s not balance that matters to me…… it’s the “flow”.  As there is a flow in yoga, so there is in life and art.  We all know when we are in a state of grace and flow.  Whether through our chosen profession or the art form that chooses us, we can keenly sense the sweet spot when it appears.  You see, trying to balance work and life just creates a big fat “zero” in the end. We are running so hard between the two extremes that we gain nothing other than a lot of exhaustion and failure.  There really isn’t any lasting growth.  However, being in the flow of the moment, the task, the touch, the beauty of creation……well that’s the place I want to live.  To give ourselves completely to who or what is in front of us, to “Be Here Now” gives us the opportunity to be fully present.  When we enter this state of grace, time ceases to matter or exist.  Yeah, I want more of that.  So how to get it?  Make conscious choices about who and what we bring into our life.  Everyone and everything can take a little piece of you.  Make sure that it’s worth the cost……..and then open up, be present and breathe.

Image

One comment on “Balance and Flow

  1. Gwynn says:

    Balance is tricky and sometime you don’t even recognize it’s missing until you are removed from the situation.

Leave a Reply

