Resurrection

A few months back, a piece of art was stolen from my tent at a local art show.  To say that it was a surreal experience would be an understatement. After my initial emotional response of betrayal, shock, grief and anger, a very quiet calm settled over me.  It’s almost impossible to explain – it was if I intuitively knew that this event was larger than myself or my art.  It has turned out to be the start of a very poignant and profound phase of my life.

As a person, I tend to fall into my thought process.  Getting out of my own head can, at times, be quite a chore.  However, the more I thought about this event, the more I gave it up to the universe.  Somehow, this experience has allowed me to reach even further than I thought possible just a few short months ago.  When we lose something or someone we cherish, there are a number of ways we can respond.  I decided to respond as if I had nothing to lose.  I read a quote recently that said something like this……”Enjoy your life but don’t become attached to it”.  Letting go allows us to loosen our grip and ease into our future – not as a leaf blowing in the wind but as a person with intention and clarity who simply decides to acknowledge that there is, in fact, a flow to life.

Since I started touching clay just a mere 4 years ago, I have never attempted to recreate a piece.  My motto is to Let Go……Let Clay.  I simply start a piece and the clay takes if from there as long as I step out of the way and let the process unfold.  However, since all of this occurred, I knew Floating Lotus would reappear.  It only took 2 1/2 short months but she is sitting on my table, smiling at me.  She has been resurrected a little larger, a little more bold and confident, her petals standing a little taller and yet with more grace of movement than the original.  For that, she has earned the name Dancing Lotus.

I will have to wait one month before I can fire her.  If she makes it through the fire, I will post an “after” photo.  I am leaving that up to the universe.IMG_1344

2 comments on “Resurrection

  1. Jeff G says:

    So, have you fired this thing yet???

Leave a Reply

